Deep Tech Canada
Programs
Nanomedicine CanadaCASHINAMDeep Tech Network
CONFERENCES
Quantum Days
Quantum Days
Subscribe for Updates

Quantum Days 2022 Videos

Opening Keynotes
Topic(s) Covered:
Nano-quantum nexus, Quantum technologies, Materials physics, Moire materials, Cavity quantum electrodynamics
During this session, our chair, Andrea Damascelli officially opened Quantum Days 2022. Dr. Mona Nemer, Chief Science Advisor to Canada’s Prime Minister, Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry, and Cabinet provided the opening remarks. Professor Allan MacDonald presented his keynote talk entitled "The Magic of Moire Materials", and Associate Professor, Lilian Childress also presented a keynote talk entitled "Cavity QED with defect centres in diamond"
Quantum Nanoscience Parallel Session
Topic(s) Covered:
Quantum nanoscience, Quantum science, Nanoscience, Qubits, Quantum technologies
Nano and quantum science are intertwined in many implementations of quantum technology. This session highlights recent advances in using nanoscience to create, control, and connect qubits for quantum computers and communication devices.
Quantum Photonics parallel session
Topic(s) Covered:
Quantum photonics, Quantum internet, Quantum communication, Quantum technologies, Silicon
Quantum photonics will play an important role in the development of the future global quantum internet and long-distance quantum communication. This session highlights recent developments in quantum photonics toward these applications by generating quantum states of light for entanglement and spin-photon interfaces, and interfacing solid-state emitters with cold atoms for a hybrid quantum repeater.
Quantum Materials Parallel Session
Topic(s) Covered:
Quantum materials, Quantum information, Quantum technologies
Quantum materials can have remarkable electronic and magnetic properties due to strong quantum mechanical effects. This session will discuss state-of-the-art experimental and theoretical approaches to the study of quantum materials and the exotic states they can reveal.
Panel Discussion - Canada’s Workforce
Topic(s) Covered:
Quantum technologies, Training, STEM, Women in STEM, EDI
In this session, we will address the training of the quantum generation in Canada. This includes, but is not limited to, technical skills and research, diversifying talents, gaps in skill sets, outreach activities, recruiting and retaining trainees, mentoring programs, EDI, and transition to/from industrial sectors.
Opening Keynotes
Topic(s) Covered:
Quantum cloud, Quantum computing, Quantum information, Quantum technologies
Professor Raymond Laflamme presented his keynote talk entitled "Perspectives on the past, present, and future of quantum information in Canada", and Krista Svore from Microsoft, also presented a keynote talk entitled "Accelerating the cloud with quantum". Taleana Huff from the Canadian Bank Note Company was awarded the 2021 Douglas R. Colton Medal for Research Excellence.
Quantum Computing Parallel Session
Topic(s) Covered:
Quantum Computing, Quantum Computer, Qubits, Quantum technologies
With the advantage of quantum computers over classical computers being demonstrated recently in impressive ways, questions about the prospects for scalable quantum computation and the underlying nature of quantum information are being amplified. This session will feature exciting viewpoints and emerging results in the theory, design, and usage of quantum computation.
Quantum Communication parallel session
Topic(s) Covered:
Quantum communication, Quantum technologies, Quantum internet
Quantum communication encompasses activities ranging from quantum key distribution to the development of the quantum internet and its applications. This session will bring to you an exciting and interdisciplinary preview of the latest developments, foundations, and viewpoints that will lay the groundwork for future efforts in quantum communication.
Quantum Sensing parallel session
Topic(s) Covered:
Quantum sensing, Quantum technologies
This session will explore various systems and strategies for quantum sensing. The field is expected to provide new opportunities - especially with regard to high sensitivity and precision - in applied physics and other areas of science. Talks will consist of theoretical work as well as experimental implementations.
Panel Discussion - The Future of Quantum in Canada
Topic(s) Covered:
Quantum technologies, EDI
The panelists will explore how Canada can best position itself to be competitive on the international scene. We have faced the same questions in other emerging areas: should we focus on a few topics or keep a broad range of activities, compete or collaborate internationally, or give more resources to fewer groups? There is a chance to build in Equity, Diversity and Inclusion merit indicators early on in the Canadian Quantum Strategy. How could we best build inclusive excellence in the Quantum field? The panelists will provide perspectives from different stakeholder communities: academia, government laboratory, one of Canada’s funding agencies and small enterprise.
Opening Poster awards
Topic(s) Covered:
Quantum strategy, Quantum technologies, Deep tech, Start-up, Quantum computing
Professor Fiona Murray presented a keynote talk entitled "Building and supporting deep tech startups", and Margaret Wu from Georgian, also presented a keynote talk entitled "A business perspective on quantum computing". Poster awards were presented during this session.
IP Best Practices Between Research Labs - Start-Ups Parallel Session
Topic(s) Covered:
Intellectual property, IP, Start-ups
Deep tech start-ups often rely on strong connections to research laboratories for founding IP and continuing IP creation. This expert panel will discuss the key success factors in that critical relationship between the start-up and research lab around intellectual property.
How to Leverage Incubators, Accelerators and Government Labs parallel session
Topic(s) Covered:
Deep tech, Start-up, Incubator, Accelerator, Quantum technologies
Deep tech start-ups usually take more time and more money to make it to market. That longer journey is critically facilitated by incubators, accelerators and publicly-funded laboratories and institutes. This expert panel will discuss the key success factors for start-ups that most successfully leverage these ecosystem resources to fuel their own growth.
Funding Your Start-up parallel session
Topic(s) Covered:
Start-up, Funding, Deep tech, Quantum technologies
Deep tech start-ups usually end up consuming a lot of cash before becoming profitable. This expert panel will discuss key success factors for deep tech start-ups to raise significant funding over extended development cycles.
Panel Discussion - Founder’s Journeys & Closing Remarks
Topic(s) Covered:
Start-Ups
There are many different paths to start-up success. In this plenary panel we welcome five Canadian founders who have each followed very different founder’s journeys so far. We discuss the key factors they believe have been most important to their success to date.

Join the Quantum Days mailing list to stay informed of upcoming events and activities.

Previous Years
20222021
Quantum Days
© 2022 Quantum Days. All rights reserved.
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram

Deep Tech Canada
Programs
Nanomedicine CanadaCASHINAMDeep Tech Network
CONFERENCES
Quantum Days
Quantum Days
Abonnez-vous ici pour des mises à jour!

Vidéos des Quantum Days 2022

Veuillez noter que toutes les vidéos ci-dessous sont en anglais.
Conférenciers d’ouverture
Sujet(s) couvert(s) :
lien nano-quantique, technologies quantiques, physique des matériaux, matériaux moirés, l’électrodynamique quantique en cavité
Au cours de cette session, notre président, Andrea Damascelli a officiellement ouvert les Quantum Days 2022. La Dre Mona Nemer, conseillère scientifique en chef auprès du Premier ministre, du ministre de l’Innovation, des Sciences et de l’Industrie et du Cabinet du Canada, a prononcé le discours d’ouverture. Le professeur Allan MacDonald a présenté un exposé intitulé The Magic of Moire Materials, et la professeure agrégée Lilian Childress a également présenté un exposé intitulé Cavity QED with defect centres in diamond.
Session parallèle sur les nanosciences quantiques
Sujet(s) couvert(s) :
Nanoscience quantique, science quantique, nanoscience, Qubits, technologies quantiques
Les nanosciences et les sciences quantiques sont entrelacés dans de nombreuses mises en œuvre de la technologie quantique. Cette session met en évidence les récentes avancées dans l’utilisation des nanosciences pour créer, contrôler et connecter des qubits pour les ordinateurs et les dispositifs de communication quantiques.
Session parallèle sur la photonique quantique
Sujet(s) couvert(s) :
Photonique quantique, internet quantique, communication quantique, technologies quantiques, silicium
La photonique quantique jouera un rôle important dans le développement de l’internet quantique à travers le monde et dans la communication quantique à longue distance. Cette session met en évidence les récents développements de la photonique quantique en vue de ces applications.
Session parallèle sur les matériaux quantiques
Sujet(s) couvert(s) :
matériaux quantiques, information quantique, technologies quantiques
Les matériaux quantiques peuvent avoir des propriétés électroniques et magnétiques remarquables en raison d’effets mécaniques quantiques puissants. Cette session abordera les approches expérimentales et théoriques les plus récentes pour l’étude des matériaux quantiques et des états exotiques qu’ils peuvent révéler.
Discussion de groupe - la main d’oeuvre canadienne
Sujet(s) couvert(s) :
technologies quantiques, formation, STIM, femmes dans les STIM, EDI
Dans cette session, nous aborderons la formation de la génération quantique au Canada. Ceci comprend les compétences techniques et la recherche, la diversification des talents, les lacunes dans l'ensemble des compétences, les activités de sensibilisation, le recrutement, la rétention des stagiaires, les programmes de mentorat, l’EDI, la transition vers/depuis les secteurs industriels, et plus encore.
Conférenciers d’ouverture
Sujet(s) couvert(s) :
Quantum cloud, informatique quantique, information quantique, technologies quantiques
Le professeur Raymond Laflamme a présenté un exposé intitulé Perspectives on the past, present, and future of quantum information in Canada, et Krista Svore de Microsoft, a également présenté un exposé intitulé Accelerating the cloud with quantum. Taleana Huff de la compagnie Canadian Bank Note a reçu la médaille Douglas R. Colton 2021 pour l’excellence en recherche.
Session parallèle sur l’informatique quantique
Sujet(s) couvert(s) :
information quantique, ordinateur quantique, Qubits, technologies quantiques
L’avantage des ordinateurs quantiques sur les ordinateurs classiques a récemment été démontré de manière impressionnante, ce qui mène à des questions sur l’évolution de l’information quantique et l’amplification de sa nature sous-jacente. Cette session présentera des points de vue passionnants et des résultats émergent de la théorie, la conception et l’utilisation de l’information quantique.
Session parallèle sur la communication quantique
Sujet(s) couvert(s) :
communication quantique, technologies quantiques, internet quantique
La communication quantique englobe des activités allant de la distribution de clés quantiques, au développement de l’internet quantique et de ses applications. Cette session vous offrira un aperçu passionnant et interdisciplinaire des derniers développements, fondements, et points de vue qui prépare le terrain pour les efforts futurs en matière de communication quantique.
Session parallèle sur les capteurs quantiques
Sujet(s) couvert(s) :
détection quantique, technologies quantiques
Cette session explorera divers systèmes et stratégies de détection quantique. Ce domaine devrait offrir de nouvelles possibilités, notamment en ce qui concerne la précision et la haute sensibilité - en physique appliquées et dans d’autres domaines scientifiques. Les exposés porteront sur des travaux théoriques ainsi que sur des mises en œuvre expérimentales.
Discussion de groupe - Préparer l’avenir quantique au Canada
Sujet(s) couvert(s) :
technologies quantiques, EDI
Les panélistes examineront comment le Canada peut se positionner pour être compétitif sur la scène internationale. Nous avons été confrontés aux mêmes questions dans d'autres domaines émergents : devons-nous nous concentrer sur quelques sujets ou conserver un large éventail d'activités, faire concurrence ou collaborer à l'échelle internationale, ou donner plus de ressources à un nombre plus restreint de groupes? Nous avons la chance d'intégrer des indicateurs de mérite en matière d'équité, de diversité et d'inclusion dès le lancement de la stratégie canadienne quantique. Quelle est la meilleure façon de favoriser l'excellence inclusive dans le domaine quantique? Les panélistes présenteront les points de vue de différentes communautés d'intervenants : le milieu universitaire, un laboratoire gouvernemental, l'un des organismes subventionnaires du Canada et une petite entreprise.
Prix pour la session d’affiches
Sujet(s) couvert(s) :
stratégie quantique, technologies quantiques, Deep tech, technologies profondes, entreprises en démarrage, informatique quantique
La professeure Fiona Murray a présenté un exposé intitulé Building and supporting deep tech startups, et Margaret Wu de Georgian, a également présenté un exposé intitulé A business perspective on quantum computing. Les prix pour les meilleures affiches ont été remis au cours de cette session.
Session parallèle sur les meilleurs pratiques en matière de propriété intellectuelle entre les laboratoires de recherche et les entreprises en démarrage
Sujet(s) couvert(s) :
propriété intellectuelle, IP, entreprises en démarrage
Deep tech start-ups often rely on strong connections to research laboratories for founding IP and continuing IP creation. This expert panel will discuss the key success factors in that critical relationship between the start-up and research lab around intellectual property.
Session parallèle sur comment tirer parti des incubateurs, accélérateurs et laboratoires gouvernementaux
Sujet(s) couvert(s) :
Deep tech, technologies profondes, entreprises en démarrage, incubateur, accélérateur, technologies quantiques
Il faut généralement plus de temps et d’argent pour que les entreprises en démarrage en technologies profondes arrivent sur le marché. Les incubateurs, les accélérateurs, et les laboratoires et instituts financés par des fonds publics facilitent grandement ce long parcours. Ce panel d’experts discutera des éléments clés afin que les entreprises en démarrage parviennent à tirer parti des ressources de cet écosystème pour alimenter leur propre croissance.
Session parallèle sur le financement de votre entreprise en démarrage
Sujet(s) couvert(s) :
entreprises en démarrage, financement, Deep tech, technologies profondes, technologies quantiques
Les entreprises en démarrage en technologies profondes consomment généralement beaucoup d’argent avant de devenir rentables. Ce panel d’experts discutera des éléments clés afin que les entreprises en démarrage puissent lever des fonds importants pendant des cycles de financement prolongé.
Discussion de groupe - parcours de fondateurs Mot de la fin
Sujet(s) couvert(s) :
Start-Ups
Plusieurs chemins peuvent mener au succès pour les entreprises en démarrage. Ce panel met en vedette cinq fondateurs canadiens qui ont chacun suivi des parcours très différents. Ce panel discutera des facteurs clé qui, selon eux, ont été les plus importants pour leur réussite jusqu’à présent.
Années précédentes
20222021
Quantum Days
© 2022 Quantum Days. Tous droits réservés.
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram